Max packet problem

pot

Hello,

I have recently started a COD4 server for my clan to play on and Im still a bit of a noob. When we first started to use the server we were all kicked with the following warning "Cvar cl_maxpackets [=30] must EQUAL TO 100".

After rooting around on the internet, I found the answer to this problem, tilde/shift button on game main screen, typed in "cl_maxpackets 100"

That worked for me and others in my clan, but whenever other players join the server they get the same warning and kicked from the server after a couple of minutes.

Again after rooting around on the internet the problem appears to be with punkbuster. What do I need to do to resolve this problem?, after checking it appears the easiest solution is to insert the line "pb_sv_cvar cl_maxpackets in 30 100"?. If that is the solution where do I insert the line into, as I can't find pb.cfg file, or do I type it into the console box within the game?, can I add it via CoD Rcon? which I admin the server with.

Ive changed the setting on my pc back to 30 and played on other server, without issue.

Im totally lost and getting frustrated as I have lost 50 players with this problem.

Any help would be greatly appriciated.

Edited by pot

There is probably a line saying pb_sv_cvar cl_maxpackets in 100 in either the server config or the pbsv.cfg or pbsvuser.cfg. The last two are located in the PB folder inside the game folder (usually anyway).

Remove that line or replace it with pb_sv_cvar cl_maxpackets in 30 100, restart PB (by using pb_sv_restart through rcon) or just restart the whole server and the kicks will stop.

FYI, a higher cl_maxpackets means that the client will send more packets to the server. Players with a fast internet connection should have it at 100, which is also the max.

~

/*Pisi*/