Punkbuster

DaBoobNoob

Hello i was wondering if anyone had any info on fear combat. i was an administrator that was streaming until pb & pbbans dropped it.

What i want to know is can i still use punkbuster for my fear combat server? Is it kicking any cheaters? Does the webtool still work? or should i just turn it off?

Edited by DaBoobNoob

Several servers are still running PunkBuster and it seems to be running relatively OK. The only problem is that clients with out-of-date PB files won't be able to update them and join your server.

I've seen many servers disable PunkBuster to avoid this, but sadly it opens the game to more hackers :(

Everything still works, just we have lost punkbuster support.

If you need help check the stickies 5chaap2k posted a link to some player PB fixs. If you need more help you can pm me and i'll help you.

Edited by FuZZie

Ok so acoording to that post the webtool should work?. for some reason for me it doesn't anymore. I haven't changed any server configs. i now get a blank page. I've set this webtool up a few times on various fear combat servers, so i can't understand what happened or what i'm forgetting to do. I thought you just create a pbsv.cfg file with the proper commands and your done.

Edited by DaBoobNoob

recheck your cfg's check if the port u set for webtool isnt blocked on a firewall and try restarting the server

Here's where i think the problem stems from. I used my hosts tca panel to update pb within the last week, when it completed & restarted punkbuster was disabled with all configs saying it was enabled. no webtool no punkbuster & "no configs were changed" punkbuster did this all on it's own. I managed to get pb back on by uploading files from my pc, but still no webtool.

i checked my configs. everything is just as it was when it was working. I talked to my game hosts they confirm no ports are blocked.