The need for PBB

Unleashed

Hey guys

I am new to this so please forgive my ignorance.

My understanding of PBB and Punkbuster is:

Punkbuster is an Anti Cheat program that detects cheats and removes them from servers but does not host a database of these players so these players could potentiallly remove there hack / cheat and rejoin the game?

PBB Hub is that database it detects the players who have been removed for hacking / cheating on PBB streaming servers and affilates and adds them to its database with proof of there ban. Therefore people on the database will not be able to enter PBB servers after there ban.

Would these two statements be correct?

I am in work at the moment but once I'm at home I will start streaming our server.. but the reason for the question is I am an admin in a League. The league is currently a MoH:AA League that is moving into BF2 and COD4 and its starting to grow sucessfully. I have just introduced player checks this means all players wanting to play in the leagues have to give the GUID's which I then check through your site but I would really like to get all Clans in the leagues streaming to PBB. Therefore I need to be able to explain clearly why they should do it hence the statement above.

Thanks for your time. :D

PS: Would it be possible for a league co-ordinator to get intouch with me to see if we can become affiliated, we are a European League.

You're right about these two things.

More precisely, PunkBuster Server (the program that runs on your gameserver) has a tiny database for local bans : the pbbans.dat file. But this file works only with one gameserver. So the purpose of PBBans is to get the bans from all streaming servers into one database : the MBI.

About league affiliation, RoadWarrior will handle that part. :)

Thanks for this guys I have explained it to everyone in a post on the league forum I will start to chase this up now and start to get people actually streaming.

I have responded to your pm RoadWarrior.