Confused

nhc

Hi,

This is my first time dealing with the issue of protecting my gameserver from cheaters. I am a bit confused.

I have successfully set up my gameserver running WET to PBBans hub.

I understand that this will disallow banned players on master ban list to join my server.

However, what if a cheater who was not banned before decided to play on my server? How or what do I need to set up to protect against this kinda of cases? I came across some post talking about MD5Tools, do I need them?

Regards,

<n00b>nhc

www.noobsplay.com

You don't need anything else. If the Punkbuster catches the cheater he will be inmediately added to de hub.

The md5 tools adds additional protection but you don't need them

You don't need anything else. If the Punkbuster catches the cheater he will be inmediately added to de hub.

The md5 tools adds additional protection but you don't need them

If I just need to stick to Punkbuster, do I need to upload any cfg files as my PB is a new installation?

How does PB catch cheaters? Does it always update itself?

Thanks for helping the noob!

<n00b> nhc

If I just need to stick to Punkbuster, do I need to upload any cfg files as my PB is a new installation?

How does PB catch cheaters? Does it always update itself?

Thanks for helping the noob!

<n00b> nhc

The only new configs you really need is adding the settings for PBBans streaming. Other than that, you can optionally add the MD5 checks and also change other settings to suit your needs.

PB (as in PunkBuster) mainly catches cheaters by violations (game hacks, aimbots, etc.), a list maintained by them. PBBans (this site) catches cheaters by MD5 checks/kicks, violations, and screenshots submitted by streaming game admins.

Hi,

My server is already streaming.

Below is what I understand so far, correct me if I am wrong.

Levels of protection.

0. PB not turned on in gameserver.

1. PB turned on in gameserver.

1a. Gameserver streaming to PBBans.

2. Using MD5 Tools/Cvar checks.