Cvar r_intensity exploit

Saliency GrudgE

I am curious I am a server admin and a leader of my clan. I had received a yahoo message from a different clan member that one of my players was kicked from his server by Pb for a cvar r_intensity exploit. Now there is bad blood between our clan and this one. The other clan has said they are searching for the SS and the pb log to verify with me they also wouldn't tell me what version of Pb they are running just that it the latest. I have searched and found little info on this cvar command. I am a admin with punksbusted and haven't found any info there either. Is this a cheat or could it be a issue with their server being in the UK. They said they submitted it to "The Cheat Police" But since they aren't a full punkbuster support site I have little faith in them. So I pose the question here.

Looking at the cvar list that pbbans recommend for COD2 //pb_sv_cvar r_intensity IN 1 is commented out so is an optional cvar which this other admin obviously has a restriction. It just means that your player had his set outside of the range the admin of that server allows, and I wouldn't have thought that it was anything to get excited about, just means that he needs to change his to be inside their allowed level if he really want to play on there. But he would have had a warning message saying his value was outside their limit before he was kicked and would have had time to change it . Unless COD2 is exceedingly different from ET and Wolf

Edited by Raistlin

There are certain cvars that "tweak" the brightness / gamma etc.

These are normally the culprits :P

pb_sv_cvar r_picmip

pb_sv_cvar r_gamma

pb_sv_cvar r_intensity

pb_sv_cvar r_overbrightbits

pb_sv_cvar r_mapoverbrightbits

Most admins set them within restrictive ranges to create an even playing field for all, and players must correct any discrepancies between what they have set, and what the server demands, within a specified time or a kick is given.