RCON Questions

aaron_c

Okay, I have been given the rcon password to a server, but how do I use it? do I type it in under password or rcon password to use it?

Also, how do i kick/ban cheaters? (this is mainly what I have rcon for, to watch for cheaters when server is afk)

thanks everybody

I have been an admin for a number of years now :P and the one golden rule I insist on for admins that work with me is that they use HLSW for any admin work.

Its free and the best remote rcon tool I have ever used (no I dont work for them :) )

When in game I have HLSW running in the task bar and play in windowed mode .. as long as your desktop resolution is the same as your game resolution its nigh on fullscreen anyways and a simple press of the windows key on the keyboard will allow you to access HLSW in seconds .. the beauty of playing like this is that while your doing your admin stuff with HLSW the game is still running in the background and a simple click on the game window takes you right back into the action,so no sneaky fooker can knife ya while your typing :P

There is a tutorial I have written that is available to our streaming game admins (I have sent it to you via forum pm)

Okay, I have been given the rcon password to a server, but how do I use it? do I type it in under password or rcon password to use it?

Also, how do i kick/ban cheaters? (this is mainly what I have rcon for, to watch for cheaters when server is afk)

thanks everybody

Also to add to Fozz's post ,,HLSW is SAFE !!! Someone gave you rcon and you dont know how to use it,,thats dangerous my friend..you use it on the server and miss type 1 thing you just gave EVERYONE rcon password...not good

HLSW is the best thing since sliced bread , its easy to use and again SAFE to use because no one sees you using it...give it a shot ,,, I've used mine for 3 yrs now,,I'd be lost w\out it :]